NNI Journalism Awards


NNI Awards 2013.Picture by Shane O'Neill / Copyright Fennell Photography 2013.

NNI National Journalist of the Year 2013 awarded to Irish Times journalist Kitty Holland for her work on the Savita Halappanavar case

NNI National Journalist of the Year 2013 awarded to Irish Times journalist Kitty Holland for her work on the Savita Halappanavar case

The NNI Journalism Awards 2013 took place on November 7th in Dublin, with 21 industry awards presented for excellence in Irish newspaper journalism.

The award for NNI National Journalist of the Year went to Kitty Holland of The Irish Times for her reporting of the Savita Halappanavar story.

Presenting the award for NNI National Journalist of the Year, Michael Brophy, Chairman of the judging panel said: “Great stories have great consequences. They hit the newstands with an impact that spellbinds the audience. The reader then quickly realises that things in the future will not be the same as they were in the past. This year we witnessed one of those stories. A story that gripped the nation when it appeared and which set the national agenda for a long time after. And today we are all the richer as a society that it was published.”

Other highlights included Anthony Hennigan of the Western People winning NNI Regional Journalist of the Year, Paul Williams winning Scoop of the Year for the Anglo Tapes story and the independent.ie team, with Paul Williams, Fionnan Sheahan and Tom Lyons winning the new Digital Award for their online presentation of the Anglo Tapes story.

A special award was presented posthumously to Donal Walsh for Outstanding Contribution to Public Debate.

“To an Ireland down at heel materially and spiritually Donal Walsh’s words were a reminder to us to count our blessings and be thankful for the simple things in life. Donal, the Celestial Tiger, will forever burn bright in our memory for teaching us to value what we have  – when we have it,” said Brendan O’Connor, who presented the award to Donal’s mother Elma.

Speaking to the attending guests, Matt Dempsey, Chairman of National Newspapers of Ireland (NNI) recognised that today’s awards celebrate the high quality content that sells newspapers. In this regard, he welcomed the publication of the Copyright Review Committee and particularly, its acknowledgment that newspapers and content creators make a vital contribution to the economy.

However, Dempsey also drew attention to aspects of the report that are not favourable for the newspaper industry, “Regrettably, the report also contained recommendations that could, that would, greatly limit the ability of newspapers to prevent others from commercially exploiting their content, without permission or fair remuneration.

“The creation of high-quality, original content requires significant investment on the part of newspaper publishers, to the tune of hundreds of millions of euro each year. That investment is underpinned by robust copyright protection, any loosening or weakening of which will have negative and far-reaching consequences for journalism, for press freedom and for media pluralism,” said Dempsey.

He called on all content creators to be vocal and active in the continuation of the debate over copyright.

Entries were submitted across a range of categories, including five new ones: Foreign Coverage; News Reporter of the Year; News Analysis; the Digital Award and Campaign of the Year. 

The full list of winners and their work can be viewed here.

Click the gallery image below to view the awards night gallery.